Holy Holiday Day 3: Ubud

Eversince I read Perahu Kertas by Dee Lestari five years ago, I was totally curious with Ubud.

Eventhough my Aunt has lived in Bali since 2008, and I often spent my holiday here eversince, Ubud was out of my reach – I couldn’t ride motorbike and there were no ojek online. At that time I could drive, but it was not until recently that my Uncle bought his car. Basically it all went down to me being not fun for not being able to go on a solo adventure.

So yesterday we spent half the day going to Ubud and we succeeded visiting two places: Tegenungan Waterfall and Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary.

The discovery of this waterfall came unplanned after typing the keywords on google “What-To-Do-in-Ubud”. Even my Aunt did not know such place exist!

The trip took approximately one hour from Denpasar. Once we reached the destinations, we paid IDR 10,000 for the tickets. Passing through some small shops and restaurants, we reached the top of the stairs that would bring us stright down to the waterfall. The stairs were not steep, but it was quite a challenge (especially on our way back up). Needless to say, the waterfall was so refreshing!

Afterwards, we went straight to the Monkey Forest.

I felt slightly scared with the monkeys because the last time we went to a monkey forest in Sangeh, the monkeys were brutally naughty. They would snatch all snatch-able goods and left us frozen, unable to comprehend how could monkeys become so hyperactively annoying. So I left all my belongings in the car, even my glasses, except camera and my phone. The thing is I can never see clearly without my glasses — so here are some photos I took with no glasses.

Ticket price for the Ubud Monkey Forest was IDR 50K for adults and IDR 40K for children under 5 years old. 

If you like walking under the trees and imagining how a green earth (literally and figuratively) could be, you should definitely come here. The lush of trees and canopies, you would have thought you were in paradise. 

Some said that the monkeys in Sangeh turned wild because of its low maintenance and dry environment. I don’t really know how that should make a statement, but when I saw this well-maintained, green lush of forest, I believe that the monkeys here at Ubud were at peace as they live in harmony with the nature. 

Apparently those were the manifest of Tri Hita Karana, a teaching in Hindu that emphasizes the strong connection between human, nature and God in order to achieve happiness.

I was clearly happy and madly in love with the tropical rainforest vegetation — so were the Macaca fascicularis. Oh, and surprisingly, it turned out that the monkeys were super calm and friendly. My day was great!

Leave a Reply

